The Christmas Court

Joanna Courtney

You are here: Home - Uncategorized - The Christmas Court


The Christmas Court

The Christmas Court The Christmas Court by Joanna Courtney is a festive historical short story from the author of The Chosen Queen King Edward s royal court has gathered at Westminster to welcome William of Normandy to E

  • Title: The Christmas Court
  • Author: Joanna Courtney
  • ISBN: null
  • Page: 452
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • The Christmas Court by Joanna Courtney is a festive historical short story from the author of The Chosen Queen.King Edward s royal court has gathered at Westminster to welcome William of Normandy to England As the ambitious Norman duke takes his place amongst the English lords, rumour and speculation are rife It appears that William has an ulterior motive for making hisThe Christmas Court by Joanna Courtney is a festive historical short story from the author of The Chosen Queen.King Edward s royal court has gathered at Westminster to welcome William of Normandy to England As the ambitious Norman duke takes his place amongst the English lords, rumour and speculation are rife It appears that William has an ulterior motive for making his timely visit to his childless royal cousin .Freya and Alodie are new to court and the entertainments of the burgeoning Wessex city of London are far intriguing than the political machinations which surround the gathering The vast Christmas markets along the sprawling banks of Chelsea village offer endless delights For the two young friends, enchanted by the wassails, evergreens and festive crowds, the Normans are of an enticement than a danger.As the feasting and dancing begin, Freya finds herself falling for a man from the wrong side of the Narrow Sea and, with the help of a little mistletoe and wine, 1051 becomes a Christmas to remember .The Christmas Court is a perfect short story for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick

    • Unlimited [Sports Book] ☆ The Christmas Court - by Joanna Courtney ✓
      452 Joanna Courtney
    • thumbnail Title: Unlimited [Sports Book] ☆ The Christmas Court - by Joanna Courtney ✓
      Posted by:Joanna Courtney
      Published :2018-06-03T15:21:41+00:00

    One thought on “The Christmas Court

    1. Tricia Preston on said:

      A lovely February read!A delightful romance set against the backdrop of a visit by William the Bastard to the Christmas Court of Edward the Confessor in December 1051, at a time when the Godwinsons were out of favour and in exile, where he was supposedly privately named as heir to the throne, a pivotal moment in English history.I really should have read it a couple of months ago but it was still very enjoyable to read it over a couple of miserable days in February, bringing back wistful memories [...]

    2. livvingitup on said:

      Oh my, Joanna Courtenyyou've done it again! The writing style is entrancing and incredible. The descriptions are gorgeously written and I honestly never wanted the story to end.The romance in this novel was magnificent and touching. It was good to finally read a faithful relationship. The characters were comical at times but compassionate and brilliantly written. Even the secondary characters had character! So please, no matter what time of the year it is, read The Christmas Court

    3. Dearna (Words of the Roses) on said:

      Perfect little insight into a Saxon Christmas. Really enjoyed it!

    4. Jo Barton on said:

      Sometimes at this time of year with so much preparation in the run up to Christmas it can be difficult to settle down to some reading time which is why this beautifully written novella is the perfect kind of Christmas reading. Short and sweet, with a gloriously authentic feel, this medieval story combines all that is good about this author's writing.King Edward's royal court in December 1051 comes alive in the imagination. The crispness of yule and the warmth of cracking log fires combine to for [...]

    5. Julia Ibbotson on said:

      Sweet little novella for the Christmas season. Freya is betrothed to her father's politic choice but falls for another from across the 'narrow sea' (Normandy). Lovely setting of the life and times - before the Conquest. But not at all sure about the ending! Also, at times, I felt that the dialogue and character reactions were portrayed with rather a 'modern' flavour which militated against the reader's ability to completely absorb herself in the period.

    6. Chris Thorndycroft on said:

      Excellent romantic novella set 15 years before the Battle of Hastings. The backdrop is the buildup to the Norman Conquest, fascinatingly evoked and the festive season of the Anglo Saxons is well described, bringing to life the smell of roast boar, the sting of mead and mulled wine and the foggy chill of winter on the banks of the Thames.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *